top of page

How to handle stress




In a previous post I covered what stress is but today I’ll be going over five different ways to handle stress.

  1. EXERCISE.

    1. This is actually my personal favorite and something I make sure to incorporate into my daily routine.

    2. Working out regularly is one of the best ways to relax your body and mind. Plus physical activity releases endorphins, dopamine, norepinephrine, and serotonin which are all important in mood regulation.

  2. DEEP BREATHING.

    1. This is a super easy activity that has insanely good benefits. Just follow these 5 steps:

    2. Sit in a comfortable position with your hands in your lap and your feet on the floor. Or you can lie down and close your eyes.

    3. Imagine yourself in a relaxing place. It can be on the beach, in a beautiful field of grass, or anywhere that gives you a peaceful feeling.

    4. Slowly take deep breaths in and out.

    5. Do this for 5 to 10 minutes at a time

  3. Take some time to focus on your hobbies

    1. If I’m getting overwhelmed with anything I usually take a short break and go do something I enjoy

    2. Some examples include: painting, cooking, knitting, reading, drawing, sleeping, or gardening

  4. Meditate

    1. I started meditating after my mom told me to and this has really helped me.

    2. You can search up “Stress relief meditation” and do whichever one works for you lengthwise.

  5. Eliminate Your Triggers

    1. This is one of the things I really need to do but havent been able to.

    2. Figure out what are the biggest causes of stress in your life. Is it your job, your commute, your schoolwork? If you’re able to identify what they are, see if you’re able to eliminate them from your life, or at least reduce them.

    3. If you can’t identify the main causes of your stress, try keeping a stress journal. Make note of when you become most anxious and see if you can determine a pattern, then find ways to remove or lessen those triggers.

I hope this helps!

bottom of page