top of page

How to Get Back on Track- Self Care Edition + My Routine




Taking care of yourself has always been important and with Covid affecting everyone’s mental health, it's only become more important. But due to quarantine you may have been having a hard time getting motivated to do your routine. For me I wasn't able to “find the time” to do my routine but once I made it a priority I found that it was a lot easier to stick to it. I also found that something that helped motivate me to do my self care routine was making it super short but effective.

So here are the steps I followed to get my routine up and running. First, I found the main things I needed to work on, drinking more water, going on walks daily, taking care of my skin and hair. Then I started to implement small things that helped me reach those goals. Whenever I did work I made sure to take a water bottle with me and finish it by the time I stopped working. I started listening to lectures when I went on walks which made me think I wasn't wasting time. For my hair and skin I looked at what I had and what I didn't. Then I did some research on how I should take care of my skin and hair type. After I bought some products ( I’ll list what I use down below), and started to try and use them daily. One thing to remember is that it's completely okay to have days where you can't do everything. I used to think that if I didn't do it perfectly I'd be failing but then I realized that I’m still doing something and that's what matters. One of my favorite quotes is “ A done something is better than a perfect nothing”


So to get back on track with your self care, find out what you need to do, how you can do it easily, and what you need to it. Then start working in little bits of your routine until it becomes an integrated part of your life that is easy for you to do.



Products/Steps for Hair/Skin Care

I wash my face twice a day with one of Clean and Clear face washes. Then I use Era Organics Oasis 16 in 1 moisturizer in the mornings. At night after cleansing my face I tone with homemade rose water. After I let that sink in, I use Paula's Choice 2% BHA Liquid Exfoliant. While I let that sink in for 20-30 minutes, I use a tiny bit of coconut and olive oil in my hair and then braid it. After that I put Vaseline on my feet, hands, lips and eyelashes. Vaseline helps eyelashes/eyebrows grow stronger so that’s why. Then I use Era Organics Tea Tree Face Cream for oily skin. I use this one at night only so my skin doesn’t get overly oily overnight. That’s all I do for my skin. For my hair I wash once a week with the OGX Renewing Argan Oil Shampoo and OGX Thick and Full Conditioner. After I wash, I dry with a cotton shirt, I spray a mixture of Renpure Coconut Whipped Creme Leave-In Conditioner and water into my semi dry hair. Then I let it air dry. Then I use a mixture of olive and coconut oil, brush it through and braid it.


*I am not a professional dermatologist and this is what worked for me. Some of these products may not work for you.

bottom of page